38 settlements resulted from negotiation. An appreciable number of disputes terminated in the return of strikers or by their replacement, 30 being terminated in this manner in 1931.

Section 9.—Employment and Unemployment.

Subsection 1.—Operations of the Employment Service of Canada.

Employment Service of Canada.—Under sec. 3 of The Employment Offices Co-ordination Act (c. 57, R.S.C., 1927), an Act passed by the Dominion Parliament in May, 1918, the Minister of Labour is empowered:—

- "(a) to aid and encourage the organization and co-ordination of employment offices and to promote uniformity of methods among them;
- "(b) to establish one or more clearing houses for the interchange of information between employment offices concerning the transfer of labour and other matters;
- "(c) to compile and distribute information received from employment offices and from other sources regarding prevailing conditions of employment".

The Act further provides that certain sums of money are to be appropriated annually and paid to the provinces on a basis proportionate to the amount that each expends on the maintenance of employment offices.

The desired uniformity and co-ordination of employment office activities throughout the various provinces are obtained by having the Dominion's payments contingent upon an agreement ensuring that the provinces, in the conduct of their employment offices, shall endeavour to fill situations in all trades and occupations for both men and women, and that no charge shall be made to employers or employees for this service. Each province agrees to maintain a provincial clearance system in co-operation with the interprovincial clearance system established by the Dominion Government, in order to secure the necessary mobility of labour as between localities in the same province or in different provinces. For the fiscal year 1931-32, agreements were concluded with all of the provinces except Prince Edward Island. Thus is formed the Employment Service of Canada—a chain of employment offices reaching from Halifax to Vancouver. At the time the Act came into force only 12 provincial employment offices were operated in Canada. This number was steadily increased until, at the close of 1919, due to the impetus given by the Employment Offices Co-ordination Act together with the requirements of the demobilization period, offices were functioning at \$4 different centres. Subsequent contractions have reduced the Service to offices permanently located at 71 centres (on Dec. 31, 1931), distributed by provinces as follows: Nova Scotia, 3; New Brunswick, 3; Quebec, 8; Ontario, 28; Manitoba, 4; Saskatchewan, 9; Alberta, 5 and British Columbia, 11.